If you like this Marvel character, you should read…

I’ve finally watched every single Marvel movie! In Lockdown, I began this long journey (this is could be an advert for Disney Plus), because somehow I’d never seen any of them before. Now I’ve officially joined the cult, and am obsessed with these brilliant characters and the plots and how every movie links together. My favourite character is Black Widow’s sister Yelena because she’s very funny, because she’s Florence Pugh and because there are painfully not enough female characters. The franchise does have a few things to work on (have you seen how little of them pass the Bechdel test?). My favourite movie is Spiderman: No Way Home because I cried multiple times when watching. It’s too good.

Being the book enthusiast I am, as soon as the credits rolled on Avengers: Endgame, I thought to myself – which books are most like these characters? While there are some very easy comparisons (Iron Man and Terminator have one too many similarities), I’ve gone for more obscure picks, mostly YA fiction and fantasy. What’s your favourite Marvel character? Have you read any of these books? Let me know in the comments!


Shang Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings was, I feel, one of the most innovative Marvel movies. You’d have thought Marvel would have exhausted all possible fight scenes, but the scene on the bus was brilliant. I chose The Priory Of The Orange Tree because some of the legends in the movie reminded me of the book even as I was watching the film. Also because they’re both packed full of dynasties and myths.

I love Natasha so much, and her fighting stances are the coolest (unlike Yelena, I’m a fan of the hair flick) so I picked She Who Became The Sun. If you love the Black Widow, you’ll appreciate this book’s training montages, ingenious fight scenes and found family. Sexism and gender is also a key theme in it. Find out why in my review here!

Would you agree that Tony Stark’s life gets taken over by his machines? That’s why I picked Crier’s War, because it details the hierarchal divide between machines and humans in a dystopian future. I’m also a sucker for Tony and Pepper’s romance and the love story in Crier’s War was cute. Find out why in my review here!

For Black Panther (one of the most stressful films I’ve seen in a long time, I was so invested in all the characters), I picked The Gilded Ones which I finished super recently. I loved the whole concept of female demons discovering their powers, the training montages are great and the representation is even better.

Who do you think is the most popular Marvel character? I don’t know how many people have Doctor Strange as their favourite because personally I found the film really trippy and confusing… so of course I had to pick Gideon the Ninth. The most confusing, and spacey, and badass book I’ve ever read. Which describes Stephen pretty well I’d say. Find out more about Gideon and her badass bone nuns in my review here!

Aaaannnddd if your favourite character is Tom Holland’s Spiderman (it’s a close one with Andrew Garfield but in my humble opinion, Holland’s films have better music), then I’m guessing you want a book that’s sweet and funny. You also seem like a bit of a romantic, so I’m going for Yes, No Maybe So which also has teenagers standing up for what’s right… albeit with slightly fewer aliens. Find out about the (equally terrifying) election candidates the couple has to face in my review here!


That’s a wrap! This was so fun to come up with, and I loved making the graphics, so I might be back with a part two for characters I’ve missed out. Have you got any ideas of possible books for characters? Have you seen any of these films, or read any of these books? Let me know in the comments!

Published by Hundreds&Thousands

I’m a teenager (and a Hufflepuff) from Manchester. I like oversized jumpers, music that isn't on the radio anymore and books. Pretty much any book I can get my hands on but my favourites are Young Adult, fantasy and science fiction. One day, I decided to share some of my opinions on some great - and not so great - books to people around the world. And here it is! I really enjoy it and I hope you do too. The aim is hundreds and thousands of book reviews (see what I did there?) but I’m not quite up to that. Yet.

14 thoughts on “If you like this Marvel character, you should read…

  1. funnily enough, my favorite marvel movie is doctor strange (although i haven’t seen ll of the marvel movies yet…), but i don’t know anyone else who agrees with me lol! i also loved wandavision, so i think i just like trippy shows/movies hahaha! i’ll definitely have to checkout gideon the ninth!

    Like

    1. That’s so cool! Ahh if you like trippy stuff I bet you’ll enjoy Gideon the Ninth – or this YA series called the Raven Boys? I don’t know if you’ve heard of it, but I’m obsessed and some very crazy stuff happens in them. Have you seen that there’s another Doctor Strange movie coming out? If I was confused by the first movie, I don’t think I’m ready for the ‘Multiverse Of Madness’…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: