Book Review: One Of Us Is Lying

Name: One Of Us Is Lying

Author: Karen McManus

Published: 2017

one of us is lying

Five students enter a detention. Only four leave alive.  
Bronwyn: the Yale – hopeful geek. Addy: the quintessential princess. Nate: the hot criminal. Cooper: the buff boy sportstar. And Simon: the outsider who created the notorious high school gossip app, About That.But he will never post anything ever agin. Simon is murdered 24 hours before he can post their darkest secrets online. Everyone has secrets, right? What really matters is how far you go to protect them.                

Murder, secrets, romance, betrayal… this book has it all! One of the best Young Adult thriller mysteries I’ve ever read. One Of Us Is Lying follow four seemingly stereotypical teenagers but the plot twist and turns throughout the whole book and will keep you guessing until the very end. The four students become unlikely friends as the story evolves, but you’re always kept guessing who the killer is. It’s written from the perspective of all the characters, which made them extremely likeable and relatable.

It felt quite obvious that some of the main characters would together… but they’re very cute so I’ll let it slide. I like how it carefully shows how toxic some teenage relationships can be and also how the pov includes different character’s perspective on the same situation. But they almost always end on a cliffhanger and I couldn’t put it down. I’d recommend it to teenagers looking for a modern murder mystery with characters you can relate to (well, apart from the bit when they’re suspected murderers.)

But seriously, the secrets are intriguing, the plot is thrilling and that cover is very cool! There is talk of it being made into a movie, which I’m very excited for. A must read for fans of Sue Wallman and John Green.

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Have you read this? Want to try it? Or got any other recommendations? Let me know in the comments!

Book Review: Salt to the Sea

Name: Salt to the Sea

Author: Ruta Sepetys

Published: 2016

51zPCkBfndL._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_

War torn Germany. Four young people. Four dark secrets. Four teenagers whose lives have been torn apart by war meet, along with thousands of other refugees, in the struggle to outpace the advancing Red Army. All are hoping to board the Wilhelm Gustloff: a ship that promises freedom and safety. But not all promises can be kept. 

Salt To The Sea is the true story of one of the worst maritime disasters of WW2. But, I’d never even heard of the Wilhelm Gustloff. It follows Joana, Alfred, Emelia and Florian who meet by chance in the dark heart of 1945 Nazi Germany. They each have their own pasts and secrets that are revealed as you go along – I was hooked!

Ruta Septys has written this book beautifully. It’s from the perspectives of the 4 main characters, rotating in short chapters between them. It’s effective because the short chapters really emphasise how quickly everything happened and most of them end on cliffhangers. I managed to convince some of my friends to read it and they loved it too. Also, it won the Cilip Carnagie Award back in 2017 which is pretty cool seeing as it was only realised in 2016.

As the characters are older, the book does covers more mature topics. Don’t be fooled by the (albeit gorgeous) cover; I wouldn’t recommend to anyone younger than 12. But that added to the book as well – nothing is sugar coated. It goes to show the true horror that refugees and civilians were forced to live through in world war two.

I’d recommend Salt To The Sea to fans of Michael Morpurgo and Sarah Crossan. It will make you laugh and cry (although mostly cry!) with its unique perspective of the horror of World War Two.

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Have read this book? Would you try it? Got any recommendations? Let me know in the comments!