A Space Oddity: Encounters by Jason Wallace

Name: Encounters

Author: Jason Wallace

Published: 2017

Song: Starlight by Muse

encounters.jpg

Zimbabwe. 1994. A group of schoolchildren see strange lights in the sky… and this day changes 6 young people’s lives forever. Encounters follows their tangled, tortured lives as they struggle to understand what they witnessed. And out of this darkness comes a group of psychologists to verify each of their the spookily similar claims. Because surely it must be a lie? Or maybe everything else is…

Encounters was a haunting take on alien encounters in science fiction. It definitely wasn’t you average sci fi read! It’s also based on true events…

It’s written in what seems to be a popular YA style at the moment where you flick between perspectives (they also do it in ‘All the Bright Places’ by Jennifer Nivenwhich there is an amazing review of here ). At first it was quite difficult to get into the style – the different perspectives weren’t really written as relatable, and the first viewpoint was quite racist and homophobic. However the finale was amazing, everything came together very cleverly. It reminded me of ‘The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle.
As the book progressed it became more about what causes people’s actions and the thoughts behind everything. There were pretty strong themes of grief and abuse, comparing the thin line between fiction and fact. It was pretty deep really for a book about aliens!

However, I felt like it didn’t fully deliver on the science fiction front – its there in the genre! You don’t have to have green blobs flying around in UFOs to make it sci-fi, but I felt like there wasn’t enough alien action (yes thats a thing now.) It was just a lot of hiding round corners and spooky speculations. But on the other martian antennae, it was really creepy. I loved the mix of technology and African folk tales and there were a lot of unexpected plot twists…

It was shortlisted for the Costa Book Award, which is pretty prestigious and everything blah blah blah – but you know if a book is even a runner up for that prize, it’s not going to be bad. And Encounters wasn’t bad! It wasn’t the best book I’ve ever read, but I really enjoyed it. It was clever, creepy and a very original take on sci-fi. I would highly recommend it for fans of The Pheonix Files and I am Number Four.

MATURE CHEESE ONLY!

This book did have some themes of abuse and severe grief. I’d recommend it for people over 12.

Have you read this book? Got any recommendations? (song recommendations also excitedly accepted) Please like and tell me in the comments section!

Published by Hundreds&Thousands

I’m a teenager from Manchester, and a proud Hufflepuff. I like oversized jumpers, indie music you’ve probably not heard of, and books. Honestly, any books I can get my hands on but my personal favourites are fantasy, mystery or your classic teenage romance (it’s ironic I know – but you can’t really go wrong with ‘A Fault in Our Stars’)! I’m always being told to go and ‘be active’ or something instead of sitting in my room reading and listening to the Smiths, but honestly I don’t see the point. Why would I want to go for a run when I could be reading Rainbow Rowell or Good Omens. And it’s Morrisey for god’s sake. So, I decided to do something with the growing piles of books in my room… and you’re reading the product! It’s a lot more interesting than I thought it would be and I really enjoy it – and I hope you do too. I try to write a review after I’ve read the book each week every Saturday, but no promises! The aim is hundreds and thousands of books (see what I did there?) but I’m not quite there. Yet.

One thought on “A Space Oddity: Encounters by Jason Wallace

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: