One of us is lying

Name: One of us is lying

Author: Karen McManus

Published: 2017

one of us is lying

Five students enter a detention. Only four leave alive.  
Bronwyn: the Yale – hopeful geek. Addy: the quintessential princess. Nate: the hot criminal  Cooper: the buff boy sportstar. And Simon: the outsider who created the notorious high school gossip app, About That.But he will never post anything ever agin. Simon is murdered 24 hours before he can post their darkest secrets online. Everyone has secrets, right? What really matters is how far you go to protect them.                                                                            

Murder, secrets, romance, betrayal… this book has it all! A must read for fans of Sue Wallman and John Green. It’s written from the point of view of all the characters – who may seem like extremely stereotypical teenagers but the plot twist and turns throughout the whole book and will keep you guessing until the very end. It is a book all about the truth. The four students become unlikely friends as the story evolves, but you are always kept guessing who the killer is. The characters are extremely likeable and relatable; the plot keeps you guessing until the very end. (god, that sounded like a Daily Times book review!) But seriously, the secrets are intriguing, the plot is thrilling and that cover is pretty ace! There is talk of it being made into a movie – it looks very exciting. Im going to keep my eyes open…

SWEETENER: Slightly cliche but some of the main characters (no spoilers on this blog) get together and are very cute. Relationships also feature in the story, but not always in the way you’d expect… I also really liked in the book, how it flicks from different character’s perspective on the situation, so that it almost always ends the narrative on a cliffhanger or narrative hook. The book is set in an American high school and all the characters are going through really relatable emotions and experiences (well, apart from the bit when they get ambushed by reporters for being suspected murderers.) Honestly, buy this book. It will make your money worthwhile!

MATURE CHEESES ONLY! As the characters are a bit older, the book covers a few more grown up topics. If I had to give an age rating, I’d say around 12+. It also adds to the book as well – the characters’ ages show in different ways as well throughout the book.

Slide3

If you have read this book, want to share a book that you’ve read or have an opinion on other english related things about my blog, just click on the comments section. I really want to hear your opinion 🙂

 

Published by Hundreds&Thousands

I’m a teenager from Manchester, and a proud Hufflepuff. I like oversized jumpers, indie music you’ve probably not heard of, and books. Honestly, any books I can get my hands on but my personal favourites are fantasy, mystery or your classic teenage romance (it’s ironic I know – but you can’t really go wrong with ‘A Fault in Our Stars’)! I’m always being told to go and ‘be active’ or something instead of sitting in my room reading and listening to the Smiths, but honestly I don’t see the point. Why would I want to go for a run when I could be reading Rainbow Rowell or Good Omens. And it’s Morrisey for god’s sake. So, I decided to do something with the growing piles of books in my room… and you’re reading the product! It’s a lot more interesting than I thought it would be and I really enjoy it – and I hope you do too. I try to write a review after I’ve read the book each week every Saturday, but no promises! The aim is hundreds and thousands of books (see what I did there?) but I’m not quite there. Yet.

4 thoughts on “One of us is lying

  1. Yes, I love it too. The mystery and the suspense when you get near the end… I love it and have read it over 5 times, I love it that much!
    Thanks for letting me borrow your book Cerys, it has opened me a new chapter to the books I can read! X

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: